STATE OF NEVADA DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS AND INDUSTRY NEVADA CONSUMER AFFAIRS UNIT

LETTER TO ALL APPLICANTS FOR A HEALTH CLUB REGISTRATION

REGISTRATION DEADLINE: JANUARY 1, 2024

LINK TO APPLICATION: https://consumeraffairs.nv.gov/ (see Business Registration Forms tab)

To: All applicants for a certificate of registration as a health club

Except as otherwise provided in NRS 598.940 – 598.966, inclusive, before advertising its services or conducting business in the State of Nevada, the owner of a health club must register with the Nevada Consumer Affairs Unit pursuant to NRS 598.944 and NRS 598.947 and deposit security with the agency pursuant to NRS 598.9472. See also NRS 598.946(1).

It is essential for the owners of health clubs to understand and comply with NRS 598.940 – 598.966; the applicable provisions of the Nevada Administrative Code (NAC) Chapter 598; and other statutes and regulations that may apply to its business.

NRS 598.940 – 598.966 and NAC 598 are available on the Legislative website at www.leg.state.nv.us. For your convenience, you will find direct links to NRS 598 and NAC 598 under the "About Us" tab on the Consumer Affairs Unit's website.

NRS 598.9415 defines a "health club." NRS 598.942 describes in further detail the health clubs that are subject to the provisions in NRS 598.940 – 598.966.

A \$25 administrative fee must be submitted along with your application for a certificate of registration.

Security in the form of a letter of credit, certificate of deposit or surety bond must be posted with the Consumer Affairs Unit in the amount required by NRS 598.946. The security must be posted at the time you submit your application and the administrative fee. Please review NRS 598.946, 598.9472, 598.9474 and 598.9476 as they all relate to the security you are required to post.

Your application will not be processed unless you submit each of the following:

- Completed Application for Registration with signed and notarized Sworn Declaration
- \$25 Administrative Fee
- Required Security
- Completed Business Questionnaire with signed and notarized Sworn Declaration
- A copy of the business license for the health club
- A copy of the organization's Certificate of Good Standing

Certificates of registration expire one year after issuance and are not transferable or assignable.

Please review and make sure you are in compliance with the requirements in NRS 598.940 – 598.966, inclusive, regarding contracts between buyers and a health club; false and misleading representations; rights of buyers; remedies; and what are deemed to be deceptive trade practices.

The information in this letter is not legal advice. The statutes and regulations referenced herein may be periodically updated or changed. Please refer to www.leg.state.nv.us for the most current version of applicable statutes and regulations.