Attorney General Laxalt Warns of Compliance Postcard Scam

Las Vegas, NV — Today, Nevada Attorney General Adam Paul Laxalt encourages
Nevadans to be aware of a new business compliance postcard scam reported by
several Nevada business owners. Businesses may receive a postcard from a company
called “Business Compliance Division” prompting them to call immediately to avoid
potential fees and penalties.

Many Nevada business owners may have already received the postcard alerting their
business to a potential compliance violation. Recipients of the postcard who have called
the provided number are directed to pay a fee of roughly $70 to apply for a certificate of
existence. Callers are asked to provide credit card information or are given instructions
to send money to an office allegedly affiliated with an unspecified state attorney
general’s office. The Office of the Nevada Attorney General has no affiliation with the
“Business Compliance Division,” and the state of Nevada does not require a certificate
of existence for Nevada corporations.

“Fraudsters are always looking for new ways to cheat consumers out of their hard-
earned dollars,” said Laxalt. “As always, | encourage Nevadans to exercise caution
before sharing their financial information or sending money to unknown companies.”

“Nevada-based businesses need to know that the ‘Business Compliance Division’ does
not represent the Secretary of State’s Office,” added Secretary Cegavske. “Nevada
businesses should not contact or provide any information to this fraudulent division.”

To minimize the risk of falling victim to this scam, consumers can take the following
steps:

e Consumers are always encouraged to exercise caution before providing any
information or payment to an entity that makes misleading claims or requests.

e Before making any monetary transactions or providing personal information,
consumers are encouraged to ask what services will be provided, and what their
corporate and payment information will be used for.

e Nevadans who receive the fraudulent postcard should not call the number
indicated.

¢ Nevada businesses owners pursuing businesses in another state could be
required to obtain a certificate of good standing from the Nevada Secretary of
State’s Office for $50.

Business owners looking for more information about business compliance should
contact the Nevada Secretary of State’s Commercial Recordings Division at  775-684-
5708.
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